The Best Cookies In All The Land

cookies

cookie

cooki

Baking is something I’ve done for as long as I can remember, either with my grandma or my mum and I still remember the childhood excitement of coming home from school to a house filled with the delicious smells of various baked goods.

As I’ve grown older it’s become one of my favourite activities as I find it incredibly relaxing and massively rewarding when something delicious emerges from the oven and it’s all yours. Not to mention it was something that made me extremely popular at university amongst my flatmates. For my first recipe to feature on my blog it had to be something that involved one of my all time favourite foods so peanut butter cookies seemed like the only answer!

This is a pretty much fool-proof recipe and doesn’t require any special fancy ingredients although for my cookies I used gluten free flour so it’s super easy to adapt to any replacement ingredients. So the basic recipe is;

  • 8 tbsp plain flour

  • 2 tbsp caster sugar

  • 2 tbsp crunchy peanut butter

  • 1 free-range egg yolk

  • 50g butter

  • icing sugar for dusting at the end

The method is super easy as well;

  • Preheat your oven to 180C/350F/Gas Mark 4
  • Mix all the ingredients together in the bowl until it comes together to a doughish texture.
  • Lightly flour your hands and roll small pieces of the dough into balls.
  • Put them on a baking sheet lined with baking paper and slightly flatten the balls with a fork.
  • Pop them into the oven for about 10 minutes until they are just goldeny-brown colour.
  • Put them on a wire rack to cool and then sprinkle with some icing sugar and enjoy!

Unfortunately I forgot to press my cookies down with a fork (rookie mistake) which is why mine have a slightly more round look to them, but the fact that they still tasted so good proves how flawless this recipe is! I hope you guys give this a go and if you’d like to see more recipes let me know!

Gemma xx

Leave a Reply

