New Year New Me?

tumblr_n58f7aHqyA1rz32gzo1_500

What with the past few weeks being a blur of essays, work, Christmas and travelling it’s only in the past two days that I’ve actually had a chance to sit down and reflect on the previous year. And I’ve been thinking that maybe we shouldn’t be taking in the New Year with the intention to completely change ourselves, but rather appreciate how far we’ve come in some of our previous resolutions, or ways we’ve improved ourselves in other ways. So I thought I’d come up with some New Years resolutions that will be ways to continue to improve myself, as opposed to picking out my flaws and failures.

1. Keep On Saving

In the last few months I had the realisation that my relationship with money was unhealthy and I needed to change it. I only started with small changes such as taking a moment before I bought something as to whether I really needed it or whether there were cheaper alternatives, and making sure I kept a constant check on my finances. I know these are clichés but I have come to realise they are clichés for a reason as they really do work. It’s still early days and I still have the occasion slip, but overall I have been able to save money which results in guilt free spending which is all the more rewarding.

2. Keep on Moving

This is another one that features quite heavily on most resolution lists in some form or other and I think it’s most likely there for a reason. In the midst of university it’s easy to became trapped in a routine of sitting and lazing about and while I’m quite lucky in that my job keeps me very active, I still would like to increase my activity. I’ve noticed my mood increases as well as my general well being due to this mild exercise and while I don’t think I’ll be running any marathons anytime soon, I’d quite like to increase my daily walks to a couple of classes and who knows where it’ll go from there.

3. Have Patience

Another relatively simple one, but as my sister recently pointed out to me I can sometimes be so set in my ways that I am sometimes slightly less understanding when it comes to the reason behind peoples actions. Although I do try to be less judgmental when it comes to making snap judgments based on snapshots of people’s behaviours, I think being patient is a perfect resolution, both in taking account of people’s feelings but also just day to day living and maybe taking a minute to slow down and take things as they come.

I’d love to hear what your New Year resolutions are and whether there’s any I can add to my own, also I do appreciate it’s the 5th but seeing as I’ve only been in the country since Saturday I can totally count Monday as the beginning right?

Leave a Reply

