Summer-Proof Makeup

blog 3
When it comes to Summer you seem to only have two choices makeup wise, either go completely bare-faced or strip it down as best you can so as to avoid the dreaded smudge when you inevitably wipe your face. I tend to try to go as bare-faced as possible in the heat for exactly this reason but sometimes you just need a little extra coverage, and after some fine tuning I thought I’d share my must haves to achieve summer makeup which lasts all day, with minimal smudging.

My first must have is a BB/CC cream which were all the rage last year but is still a great option for a base that provides a light coverage as well as some much needed SPF. This Dior Diorskin Nude BB Crème one is one current favourite but the Maybelline Dream Fresh BB cream is also a great more affordable option. I prep my skin first with my L’Oreal Infallible Mattifying Primer which is surprisingly moisturising as well as perfect for reducing shine.

Eye makeup is a big thing for me as this is usually the biggest source of longevity on my face, so I tend to pay more attention to it. This Topshop Magic Liner in Engraved, which was re-released as part of their fifth year anniversary is one of my current favourites, as it lasts all day long as well as being a brilliantly deep black. This in combination with a flick of the much loved Benefit Roller Lash and a dusting of M.A.C’s All That Glitters on my eyelids creates the perfect look which is polished while being fresh and summery. A quick brush and colour of my brows with my M.A.C.208 Angled Brow Brush and the Charcoal Brown eye shadow and that’s my eye makeup done!

A dusting of one of my favourite bronzers by Collection gives that much needed summer glow (especially for a super pale person like me), and a little of my favourite perfume by Elizabeth and James and I’m good to go!

blog2 blog

So here it is! Apologises for the face as this posing thing is a bit new to me but here is my tried and tested look that I’ll be wearing all Summer. I’d also love to know if you guys have any Summer makeup must haves and your tips to Summer proof makeup that lasts!

Leave a Reply

