Taking New York: Museum Mile

192

199

193So to kick of my series of New York posts I thought I’d focus on one of the most famous streets in the city, Museum Mile. I am a complete little museum nerd so this was very high on my must see list, and after managing to squeeze the Guggenheim and The Met in one day I was completely exhausted but feeling pretty smugly cultured afterwards! We started with the Guggenheim which unfortunately didn’t allow any photos past the lobby but even that was enough to take my breath away. Plus the eagle eye TV fans of you might realise that this was where Ugly Betty filmed an episode as well, and I was completely at home pretending I was living in the glamorous world of MODE magazine.

207

3563

288

287

286

332

319

312

3697

310

306

304

296

297

As well as some incredible modern art, such Lichtenstein (who I absolutely adore) there is a wealth of amazing classical art such as Van Gogh, Monet and this courtyard which honestly took my breath away. I have never been in a museum so vast and which encompasses everything from modern to classical art, history and everything in between on such a grand scale. I could have happily spent all day there as there was something for everyone, and I couldn’t help but feel that we haven’t even begun to scratch the surface in those few precious hours we had.

295

294

260

264

One of the best parts about the museum is this secluded little oriental garden which honestly felt like a little escape to Asia and serenity in the middle of the hectic American metropolitan. So of course I couldn’t help take a few snaps.

3629

275

271

265

3632

280

248

258

Once we wandered downstairs we came across the Anna Wintour Costume Center (told you this museum had everything), which until the first of February is holding the “Death Becomes Her” exhibition of mourning dresses. In a brilliantly eerie cool room we wandered amongst the mannequins and I couldn’t help but be affected by sombre atmosphere but also appreciate the exquisite beauty of the gowns.

2602

223

Then we went on a hunt as we’d lost my mummy, but we found her in the end(terrible I know but I couldn’t help it).

229

WP_20141227_16_53_20_Pro

And of course before we headed back to the hotel I couldn’t help but live out my Gossip Girl teenage dream of lunch on the steps of The Met (and maybe pretending I was Blair Waldorf while I was at it).

WP_20141227_16_51_13_Pro

I cannot think of a better way to start my New York adventure, exploring a cultural wonderland while living out all my teenage fantasy TV dreams. I cannot recommend either of these museums enough and I can’t wait to share with you all what else I get up to, and if you guys have any favourite places in the Big Apple I’d love to hear them!

Leave a comment